Tech Woes

Online school has me going a little kooky the past couple days and — it’s only been 2 weeks!! I’m sure you’re thinking, um, that’s not a good sign…how are you going to make it to the end of the school year? Believe me, I’ve asked myself a million times, What in the WORLD am I doing?! I’m no super hero with magical powers that controls the online atmosphere or carry fairy dust to fix technology issues in a snap. I seriously thought having a 5 month old would be my biggest setback, but she’s been a trooper! Gold stars for my girls! 🙂

The Problem

My biggest hurdle is actually dealing with a computer system that is solely reliant on two main components: the Internet and old technology.

When we encounter a problem online or with the computer, it can really slow us down, sometimes setting us back several hours or even a day. You see, when a child enrolls in this online school, they are provided with a loaner laptop and printer for free, which seemed like a great incentive. They are small and lightweight, which provides a minimalist approach and your thinking, “It takes up so little space, this is a dream come true!” But minimal or not, these pesky technical issues still rear their ugly heads and continue to plague our learning time.

With little time on my hands, my daughter’s school work is time sensitive, as it should be. But time is something I can’t create or waste — especially when it’s my responsibility to guide our 1st grader in every subject. All the while taking care of a baby who demands a lot of my attention. This is my full time job. Then the house comes second. Thankfully, my husband is a fantastic house cleaner– not better than me, just more self motivated to get the job done, haha. So if I didn’t get something done before he gets home, he jumps in and helps me out.

I didn’t foresee all the complications that could possibly occur while attending online school. My thinking was, “This will be the easiest job, ever.” I assumed I would have master control; having the ability and time to get as much work done as possible. But I soon realized, I’m not in control– because a glitch is a glitch, with or without having control of the universe. I’ve had to make several calls to the school tech team because a video wouldn’t work inside their online portal, the log in page has the option to select one part but not the other, the computer freezes unexpectedly, buttons that should work don’t and the list goes on. I honestly feel sorry for the school tech team but I guess they are just doing their job. Thank you tech team!!

But beyond all the stress of not having the control to prevent most of these technology problems or having the knowledge to fix them– we seriously have wonderful teachers who are so patient and understanding. They’ve been down this road before and remind us constantly not to stress out about submitting something, until things get resolved. Sometimes the teachers are aware of a situation before we start our day and we receive an update through email. It’s nice to see that they genuinely care about their students and making sure that the tools are working properly for a great learning experience!

Soul Searching

Honestly, I feel like pulling my hair out most of the time, but I have a feeling God is teaching me more about patience and letting go of control. I have a hard time asking for help from others. Especially during stressful times in my life. I use to hide myself from those around me and hoped I survived the slay of the dragon, alone. The truth is, I really do need them. Overcoming fear of rejection is usually my first step before ever realizing that my friends and family really do care about me AND my struggles. Online school isn’t a death sentence, by no means. As time goes on, it will certainly get easier and a routine will start to form. In the end, I know this journey will only make me stronger!

The Countdown: Two weeks down, sixteen more to go — say a prayer, wish us good luck and please, don’t forget the chocolates and coffee next time (wink, wink)!

Reaching Out

If you’re a homeschooling parent or have been one in the past, I’d love to hear how you overcome your daily obstacles in the comments below.

Leave a comment